What is the Purpose of Being a Girl? | Proverbs 31

As I crossed my arms and plopped my head down on my vanity in the corner of my room, Bible laid out in front of me, tears welled up in my eyes, the only thought I had was, “Is this really it? What’s the point?”

That lovely anecdote is a personal account of one of the several times I was reading my Bible and any passage relating women crossed my eyeline. I don’t know about you, but the tales of women in the Bible are very disconcerting to me. From what I read, all biblical women did was kept their traps shut, waited on their husbands hand and foot, and looked nice.

What I didn’t realize was that the role of a woman was not only precious in God’s sight, but it was indispensable.

I bought into the lie of this modern culture that in order for men and women to be equal, they must have the same role. I also blindly believed that a quiet and gentle spirit, the one that God has called for women to have, is degrading and puts women below men. That is so far from the truth! In I Peter 3:4, God says to women, “let [your adornment] be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God.” Did you catch that? As girls, we are precious to God, and He has called us to live out a great purpose which is far more than some second-class citizen.

In the book of Proverbs (an amazing book of the Bible, definitely read it) (well actually read all the Bible but you know what I mean), God describes the “virtuous wife” in chapter 31. I’ve read this part of the Bible multiple times, but I never fully studied it until recently. The main idea that I took from examining these verses closely is this;

The Proverbs 31 woman works… like, really hard.

Really, really, hard. She’s no idle lady. I never quite realized that biblical womanhood required so much work. I always assumed women were kind of an afterthought to God without any real purpose. This woman proved me so wrong. Check out some of these verses;

  • “Who can find a virtuous wife? For her worth is far above rubies.” -Proverbs 31:10.
  • “She also rises while it is yet night, and provides food for her household.” -Proverbs 31:15
  • “Strength and honor are her clothing; she shall rejoice in time to come.” -Proverbs 31:25
  • “She watches over the ways of her household, and does not eat the bread of idleness.” -Proverbs 31:27
  • “Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her.” -Proverbs 31:28

Does that sound like a second-class citizen to you? No way! That is a strong, hardworking, and diligent woman who wakes up before sunrise and stays up after sunset, providing for the people who God has placed in her care. Her role is crucial to the people who rely on her. So yes, a biblical woman is a helper. But that doesn’t mean that she is less than anyone. Her responsibility is so valuable, precious, and irreplaceable. Women are called to be strong, trustworthy, caring, kind creatures of God who respect and fear Him enough to live out the purpose He has given them. That is no job for a wimpy girl.

My challenge to you is to read Proverbs 31:10-31 for yourself and discover the girl God has called you to be. Pray to God that He will give you understanding to know His will. Then underline each word that characterizes this woman, and find what stands out most to you about her. Seek to be like that strong, honorable, trustworthy, and wonderful woman in your life.

Bonus: Want to know more about God’s radical design for womanhood? I totally recommend the book “Girl Defined” by Kristen Clark and Bethany Baird. It is packed with tons of Scripture- based truths on God’s great purpose for you as a girl. They even have a blog, too! Check it out at this link; https://www.girldefined.com/

What are your thoughts on biblical womanhood? How are you living out your God-given purpose as a girl? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

