When Things Don’t go Your Way

Do you ever feel like your life is out of control? Like you just can’t win for losing, and nothing is going your way? 

I can’t stand it when things don’t go my way. A little secret about me; I’m a bit of a control freak. Whenever any situation doesn’t pan out according to the perfect little picture that I have in my mind, I go a bit nuts. Sure, sure, I know God’s in control and I shouldn’t worry and blah, blah, blah, but that’s a lot easier said than done. When you’re in a storm and your plans for life start crumbling, it can be hard to understand how God is working. Worry not, I’m here to give you some practical tips on what to do when things don’t go your way and you can’t seem to submit to God.

  1. Pray. When I say pray, I don’t mean spend 10 seconds asking God to do what you want Him to do. Actually pray. Wrestle with God, wrestle with yourself, and don’t stop until you have a clear head and can trust that God knows what He’s doing. God doesn’t want you to be discontent, but He has a reason for everything He does. Seriously sit down, talk to God, ask Him why He isn’t letting things go your way, and submit to Him.
  1. Be Honest. With God, and with yourself. In Matthew 26:39, Jesus is talking to God before His crucifixion. He says, “O My Father, if it is possible, let this cup [of suffering] pass from Me, nevertheless, not as I will, but as You will.” Jesus wasn’t trying to pretend like He was happy that He was about to be nailed to a cross and beaten to death. He was honest with God and yet still gave Himself to God’s will. Sometimes we can’t find contentment in God’s plans until we admit that we are discontent. I encourage you to tell God you are unhappy, and then tell Him why. Trust me, it takes a huge load off your shoulders and clears your mind to be able to accept God’s will.
  1. Read Scripture. Just look in your Bible’s concordance or search Google for Bible verses with the words “control”, “peace”, “plans”, “trust”, “power”, etc. Here are a few great ones:
    • “Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, and whose hope is in the Lord. For he shall be like a tree planted by the waters, which spreads out its roots by the river, and will not fear when the heat comes; but its leaf will be green, and will not be anxious in the year of drought, nor will cease from yielding fruit. -Jeremiah 17:7-8.
    • “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. -Jeremiah 29:11.
    • “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths. -Proverbs 3:5-6.
  1. Keep The Bigger Picture In Mind. “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways My ways, for as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.” -Isaiah 55:8-9. God has plans and ways that are so far beyond our understanding. While it might not make any sense at all why God isn’t letting things go your way right now, I have a feeling that in the future, you will look back and realize He was right all along. Remember, even when we have good intentions, God’s plan is always greater than ours.
  1. Find a Way to Let Out Your Frustration. A Godly way, not like punching your brother or something. For me, that’s reading my Bible or writing. Maybe for you it’s listening to worship music, going for a walk, or watching a Christian YouTuber (I recommend the channel Blimey Cow, they’re such a great de-stressor and so hilarious.) Our emotions tend to get the best of us at times, so you often have to let your frustration out before you can see things with a clear head.

I hope these tips help you out. This is still a huge area of struggle for me, but I’m slowly learning to submit to God and let Him direct my steps. I pray that God will work on all our hearts and teach us to trust Him more!

Are you a control freak too? Do you have any practical ways to submit to God in your life? Share them in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

